“Snowfall”

           Thought I would give you all a little taste of what I’m doing at the moment. Monday marks the beginning of October –Fall is in the air, and November and NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) are just a month away! So it’s time for me to start the prep work for my next novel. The picture is of the corkboard I am using this year. As you can hopefully tell from the picture (I don’t have a good camera at the moment, so you’ll have to bear with me), my novel is called “Snowfall” and is set in the winter. So far I have written up a summary (the little typewritten piece of paper in the top left corner), written out some major plot points (the blank index cards underneath), found some lovely inspirational pictures and a poem by Robert Frost (Stopping By Woods on a Snowy Evening), and had my best friend who is a simply fantastic artist draw me up some concept art for my two main characters, Arianna and Nikolai. I’m super excited for November this year!

5 thoughts on ““Snowfall”

  1. It’s a fantasty novel slightly inspired by Russia, thus the really snowy winter and Nikolai. One of these days I’ll get around to writing a historical fiction, but that would require a TON of research beforehand. I’d rather tackle a task like that when I’m not on such a major time crunch. It’s about Nikolai and Arianna –a Prince and a noblewoman–who are getting married, but on the day of their wedding, a dragon steals them both from the church where the wedding is taking place. Do you have a NaNoWriMo account? I’d love to keep up with you during November!

    • No, I don’t–I’ll probably be posting word count updates and maybe the prologue/first chapter on my blog. And then I’ll email the book to some friends–if you ever comment on my blog I’ll automatically get your email address, so feel free to do that. 😀
      Haha, yes, research is my bane. So, my book’s set in Robin Hood’s time, and I don’t see my plot needing much medieval research. 🙂 I wish I knew what my characters look like. I mean, I have their hair color, eye color, relative height, and all that, but I really can’t picture them too well. Concept art is a great idea.
      You should get onto the TPS Forums so we can chat even more. 🙂 I tell lots of people that, and so few actually take heed…. 😀

  2. Hi Angela! Thanks! I normally don’t do so much prep work for a novel, but my desk is in a different place this year, so I figured what better way to deal with the itch to write that the cold weather has brought than to do some planning with my corkboard. This year will be my 6th novel and my third year doing NaNoWriMo. 🙂

Leave a Reply

