O Come, O Come Emmanuel

Christmas Is

“Christmas is knowing God loves you and comes to be with you. Christmas is God in your heart.”

Christmas IsWhen I bought the little green and red book so many years ago, I had no idea what an impact it would make on my thoughts in the days leading up to Christmas. It was simple, unassuming as it sat among the more tempting toys that were littered on the table of trinkets I could buy using the “money” I had earned from memorizing Bible verses at my church AWANA program. Despite humble beginnings, “Christmas Is”, has become an incredibly important tradition to me. The first year I read it, it was a nice collection of Christmas stories, but each year I used it more and more to help me remember, when facing the hustle and bustle of the season, what Christmas is truly about. Through poignant tales of the beginning of many Christmas traditions, meaningful prayers for the Christmas season, and profound reminders of all God has done for us, I always find my thoughts turning toward the Lord.

Leave a Reply

